Chosen by members’ votes, the President has among his/her functions:

a) Legally represent the Association before any kind of public or private organizations.

b) Call, chair and preside over the meetings held by the General Assembly and the Board of Directors

c) Direct the deliberations of both.

d) Order payments and authorize with his/her signature the documents, minutes and correspondence.

e) Adopt any urgent measure that the smooth running of the Association advises is necessary or desirable for the development of its activities, without prejudice to account later to the Board of Directors.

Current President

Dr. Alejandro Caparrós

Alejandro Caparrós, PhD in Economics (U. Complutense), is Senior Researcher at the Institute for Public Goods and Policies of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), and lecturer at the University Carlos III in Madrid. He served previously as Director of the Institute for Public Goods and Policies (IPP-CSIC) and Director of the Center for Social Sciences and Humanities (CCHS-CSIC). He has also been post-doc at the CNRS in Paris, lecturer at the University Paris Est and visiting scholar at the Universities of Berkeley, Columbia, Paris II, Paris Est, Bordeaux, Göttingen, Exeter, Bath and Innsbruck. He has participated in a large number of research projects funded by the European Commission and national agencies, and has worked as consultant for the World Bank, the United Nations Statistics Division and local entities. He currently serves as Lead Author of the chapter on International Cooperation for the WGIII Sixth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and is the Country Representative for Spain at the European Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (EARE).

His current research deals with two topics: (i) incentives for cooperation and international negotiations on global public goods and (ii) public goods and ecosystem accounting. He has published over 50 papers in journals such as Science, Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, American Journal of Agricultural Economics, Energy Economics, Land Economics, Environmental and Resource Economics, Ecological Economics, Public Choice, Oxford Economic Papers, Journal of Public Economic Theory, among others.

Former presidents:

  • Dr. Santiao Rubio (2018-2020)
  • Dr. Antoni Riera Font (2015-2018)
  • Dr. Emilio Cerda (2012-2015)
  • Dra. María A. Cunha-e-Sá (2009-2012)
  • Dr. Pablo Campos Palacín (2002-2008)